Inca Trails gain UNESCO World Heritage status


In June the Inca trail system was officially declared a World Heritage Patrimony by the UNESCO. Its Quichuan name Qhapaq Ñan means ‘Great Road’ which seems apt as there are over 6,000km of Inca Trail extending into Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru.

These extensive trails were built during the era of the Tawuantinsuyu to connect this mighty empire from the Amazon through the Andes to the coast.

RELATED: How you can make a difference to your Inca Trail porter’s welfare

Share this page:

"What a well balanced holiday. Thank you for all your hard work and input"

D. Edwards

"Such a great trip. Thank you so much"

J. Bennett

"Riding the copper canyon was absolutely amazing"

A. Ruffell

Share this page:
Scroll to Top